Monday, May 5, 2014

theurbanenvironment:

Patrick Blanc | French | Botanist | Superstar

Sunday, May 4, 2014
Friday, May 2, 2014 Thursday, May 1, 2014

arciphilia:

mindyourgarden:

The Twisted Valley

The twisted valley aims to recover the pedestrian’s traffic footprint. Since the channeling works that were made in the 70s definitely skewed Elche’s Canyon continuity. 

by Grupo Aranea

(via
Tuesday, April 29, 2014

archatlas:

Ruck-a-Chucky Bridge T.Y. Lin International, Hanson Engineers, and Skidmore, Owings & Merrill (SOM)

Unbuilt project, 1979

The bridge was designed to span the Ameri­can River in California, about 10 miles upstream from a planned dam. The challenge was to connect roads running parallel to the steep valley walls without requiring the extensive and costly re-grading required for a straight bridge, and a curved span with customary vertical supports was ruled out by the 450-foot depth of the anticipated reservoir. Hence the “hanging arc” concept for the bridge, with a curved concrete deck supported by 80 post-tensioned cables anchored in the slopes of the gorge.” [via]

beautiful sketches

Monday, April 28, 2014

really-shit:

The Pinch is a small community center and library located in the mountain village of Shuanghe, China. Designed by John Lin and Olivier Ottevaere, the pinch features a curved roof which doubles as a children’s slide, an indoor library and a playground.

Read More

(Source: frameweb.com)

Saturday, April 26, 2014
Monday, April 21, 2014
Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Garden House [x]

(Source: architectide)

Monday, April 14, 2014

archatlas:

Mill Valley Cabins Feldman Architecture