Tuesday, April 29, 2014

archatlas:

Ruck-a-Chucky Bridge T.Y. Lin International, Hanson Engineers, and Skidmore, Owings & Merrill (SOM)

Unbuilt project, 1979

The bridge was designed to span the Ameri­can River in California, about 10 miles upstream from a planned dam. The challenge was to connect roads running parallel to the steep valley walls without requiring the extensive and costly re-grading required for a straight bridge, and a curved span with customary vertical supports was ruled out by the 450-foot depth of the anticipated reservoir. Hence the “hanging arc” concept for the bridge, with a curved concrete deck supported by 80 post-tensioned cables anchored in the slopes of the gorge.” [via]

beautiful sketches

Monday, April 21, 2014
Sunday, April 20, 2014 Wednesday, June 12, 2013

landscape35mm:

kylelabow:

cosascool:

‘Bourrasque’ light installation by Paul Cocksedge in Lyon

Reblog Sunday

Tuesday, June 11, 2013
intelligentpencil:

Memory-Distance

intelligentpencil:

Memory-Distance

Tuesday, April 30, 2013
bluepueblo:

Sunken Alcove Garden, New Zealand
photo via besttravelphotos

bluepueblo:

Sunken Alcove Garden, New Zealand

photo via besttravelphotos

Sunday, March 24, 2013

(Source: tinaschoices)

Thursday, March 21, 2013

kinspirational:

flower covered areas

sources

1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Woods of Net pavilion is a fun way for kids to develop their sense of balance and appreciation of colors

(Source: pulmonaire)

Friday, March 8, 2013

(Source: momalibrary)